Starting Off July With a Bang!

image

Transfers have come again, and I am so so excited to be TRAINING my last transfer. President told me a few days ago that I’d be training, and so I was expecting to get her this Wednesday when new missionaries usually come. Then Friday night we had a voicemail from President saying that she would be coming SATURDAY NIGHT! Surprise!! So Sister Greenwood flew in Saturday and I met her that evening.

Sister Greenwood…she is so so awesome and so so cute! She is from Star Valley, Wyoming and she is the youngest of five kids. She went to a community college in Wyoming before her mission and got her associates degree, just like me! We’ve only been together for a day where we served at the VC yesterday, and she was just stellar. She’s excited to jump right in and she’s eager to learn.

The past few days have just been awesome. On Friday we served at the Grandin Building and I think we had 10 buses come! Sooo many youth! Luckily they were spaced out enough that we were able to get them through in an organized fashion. It was so much fun. As soon as we were done with one group, the next group walked through the door. I’ve also been able to take many cool families that come through.

One of my favorite experiences this week was taking a youth conference from the Cambridge, MA stake on tour at the Smith Farm. Their leaders were smart and gave them plenty of time here so we could have a really good indepth tour. We went backwards so we ended at the log home with the First Vision. I had one of the leaders quote it in Spanish, and then right before I was about to do it in English, I felt like I should ask if anyone else could recite it in English. This young 13 year old boy shot his hand into the air and continued to quote it perfectly, with so much feeling that the Spirit just crashed over me in waves and brought tears to my eyes. To hear a young boy, so close to Joseph’s age, quote it was an experience I’ll never forget. In Joseph’s 1832 account he says following the vision, “My soul was filled with love and for many days I could rejoice with great joy.” I also am filled with love for my Father in Heaven for all the incredible blessings I’ve been given. I’m grateful for the many wonderful experiences I’ve had this week and for the opportunity to be with Sister Greenwood this transfer. Here’s to making it the best transfer yet!

I love being a missionary and I love you all!
Leave a Reply

