Aqui esta mi nueva companera!

image 3
Transfers happened and it was another shakeup. I was released from my calling as Visitors’ Center Trainer. It has been an incredible time of learning and growing. But I’ve learned what I needed to and now it’s someone else’s turn.

The good news is I’m still full-site! I am so glad I get to be at the sites everyday still, especially since we’re about three days from busy season. WOOHOOO!! Aaaaaaand my new companion is Sister Aybar (eye-bar) from the Dominican Republic! My third foreign companion, how’d I get so lucky? And they’ve all been from different places, which has been cool. I’m excited to learn from her this transfer. We’ve only been together one day and it was about the most exciting day of my mission. More on that later. Anyway, we live right next to the Smith Farm..my backyard is literally the Sacred Grove and it’s the most surreal thing on the planet. My new address is 
863 Stafford Rd. Apt 2-B, Palmyra, NY, 14522.

image

Okay, now for the exciting stuff. Yesterday Sister Aybar and I were serving at the Smith Farm. I started the tour of a great group consisting of a temple couple and their friends and then a family of 10 joined us. We had an incredible tour together, the kids were so well-behaved and gave amazing answers to everything I asked, and at the very end I was talking to the mom in the Frame Home while the kids went out to the barn. She was telling me this incredible story of how she had come here 20 years earlier addicted to meth, and had a life changing experience in the Grove. Right as she’s telling me this we hear lots of little voices screaming outside. She and her husband dashed out to see what happened and they yelled that the 7 year-old’s hand was stuck in an animal trap! Apparently he had jumped over the wall in the barn and stuck his hand in a hole in the corner where a small animal trap was. It took a couple men to pry it off his hand, meanwhile I ran to the welcome center to get the senior elder and his wife to call the paramedics. Two ambulances, 2 cop cars, extra volunteer cars on the road AND a firetruck showed up. While we’re waiting his older brother passes out seeing his little brother like that. He hits the barn floor pretty hard and it takes his mom a while to wake him up. It was the craziest 30 minutes of my life. In the end everyone was fine, the little boy got a good cut but incredibly it didn’t break his little fingers. And that was my first day with Sister Aybar! As the family was walking back to their motor home the mom took me aside and told me she just kept thinking of these great analogies and life lessons we can learn, which got me thinking as well. The wall in the barn is pretty high for a kid his size. He was curious about what was on the other side and instead of viewing the wall as a protection from the other side, he saw it as a hindrance. Before he knew it, his curiosity literally got him in a trap, a trap that he could not get out of by himself. But with the help of his loving father, and the priesthood to give him a blessing, he’s on the road to recovery. When we ignore the protection that surrounds us, we’re also caught in Satan’s trap, and the only thing that can save us is someone stronger, someone who knows how to remove the trap, and someone who loves us enough to go through the effort to get us out. Later that day I was reading about this during personal study in Alma 42, and I’ll leave you with verse 15: And now, the plan of mercy could not be brought about except an atonement should be made; therefore God himself atoneth for the sins of the world, to bring about the plan of mercy, to appease the demands of justice, that God might be a perfect, just God, and a merciful God also.
 
I’m grateful for the plan of mercy, I’m grateful for you all, I’m grateful to be a missionary in Palmyra, New York, and I’m grateful for my Savior, Jesus Christ.
Leave a Reply

