Drowning But Not Complaining!

Resized_20170501_111859
I will start by saying how much I love serving at the Visitors’ Center and Historic Sites. Seriously, it’s the best gig ever. People coming to us to learn about the Restoration! I love it!

This week flew by, and it’s all blurring together. But here are some highlights.
image
Saturday we were serving at the Hill Cumorah when this group of Young Men from the Bronx came in. We took them in to the Christ statue and as we were waiting for them all to gather we sang I am a Child of God with them. It was the neatest experience. I looked around the room at all of them and was filled with so much love. I was blessed with a glimpse into how our Heavenly Father sees them. He loves each and every one of us and knows us perfectly. These boys are filled with so much potential, and afterwards many of them came up to us and talked about how they want to serve missions. 
image 3
Sunday was spent at the Whitmer Farm. Is there a better way to spend a Sunday? No. Especially when the fields are full of dandelions and you have an awesome companion by your side who can weave flower crowns. Seriously, Sister Jacobsen is the greatest. I’m sure I say this in every email, but I can’t say it enough, I am soooo grateful to be her companion. She has taught me so much and helped me become a better person. 

On Monday I got to go on exchanges with Sister Rea! Wow, now this is one incredible missionary. She is so smart, strong and I thoroughly enjoyed my short time with her and learned a lot. We served at the Smith Farm, and it’s literally been raining every day this week. At one point it was raining really hard, and barely anyone comes to the farm when it’s pouring, so we decided to walk through the Grove. Why? I don’t know, it seemed like a good idea at the time until the lightning struck not far away. We hightailed it back to the Welcome Center. I LOVE THE RAIN!
image 5
Wednesday was new sisters training at the Grandin. We also held site meeting there and practiced giving short tours for when we have hundreds of people in the building at once. Do you know what this means? PAGEANT PREPARATION!! We’ve been doing some scheduling and when we see the schedule of bus tours coming we’re giddy. 
image 6
Also included is our house picture. Back row is Sister Tucker: Texas, Sister Cahoon: Canada, and Sister Abreu: North Carolina. They are great and we have a blast living together at our cute little white house. Which reminds me our house is currently flooding as I write this. Remember the flood alarm a few weeks ago? It went off again this morning and we turned it off and left haha. Oops. All the rain has to go somewhere! Why not our basement?
image 7
Lastly, yesterday was MLC! I know, it seems like last MLC was just last week! What better way to spend Cinco de Mayo then with my incredible missionary friends? We talked a lot about diligence and repentance. It has been amazing to see the strides this mission has taken since I first came out here. I love being a missionary and I love the opportunity to learn from President and Sister Evans.

Alrighty folks, here’s the deal. Stop what you’re doing. Go to Facebook. Search the Hill Cumorah page and LIKE IT! Help promote the sites! Get great pictures and inspirational posts on your feed! This week’s thought is taken from Sister Fuhriman. We got to do teamups with them on Sunday at the Whitmer Farm and she shared 2 Nephi 25:26 (one of my favorites) but changed the words to “And we of Christ, we [post] of Christ, we [snap] of Christ, we [pin] of Christ, and we write according to our prophecies, that our children may know to what source they may look for a remission of their sins.” Sharing the gospel isn’t just loosing our tongues, it’s also loosing our thumbs!

I love you all and I love being a missionary!
Leave a Reply

