Life is So Good as a Missionary

image3Well, Tuesday night at 10:13 we got a call from the Visitors’ Center trainers. We were just about to go to bed and had planned our area day for Wednesday but they asked us if we could go to the Whitmer farm the next day. Um yes yes yes. I LOVE the Whitmer farm and hadn’t served there in a transfer. The senior couple who drove us also took us to Sauder’s, a really neat Mennonite store. It was Sister Millers first time there.

image2On Friday I went on exchanges with Sister Ringler. She came to Fairport and we had a lesson planned with Martin. His sister called saying she wouldn’t be there so we had to find another female. We called 34 people off of the ward list and no one could come! 34! Can’t say we didn’t try. Before each new call we’d say, “fourth floor last door. Fourth floor last door.” (Read Uchtdorf’s talk from the Women’s Session of conference). It was alright though because his other sister was home during the lesson. He’s coming along great! We moved his date to November 12 so he can come to church. 

On Saturday we had another lesson with Michelle. We got her two teenage daughters to join us. We were so focused on Michelle and the lesson that we didn’t notice the girls started fighting until one of them threw a bottle of red Kool-Aid across the room. My Book of Mormon went flying but Sister Miller was in the splash zone. She got sprayed! It was an adventure. And we had the bishop’s wife with us, so that was fun. image3

On Sunday all four of us sisters spoke in sacrament meeting on obedience. I went in so nervous and unprepared, my notes were minuscule and I clocked it in under 5 minutes during comp study. I was the final speaker and my fellow missionaries kindly left me about 15 minutes to speak! Panic mode. All I can say is the spirit took over and I was somehow able to give a composed talk, with material I hadn’t even planned on using, and it was the perfect amount of time. When I sat down Sister Miller said, “where did that come from?” (She was my audience during comp study.) All I could tell her was it wasn’t me! Miracles. Our talks were on the blessings of obedience and I got the topic of how it makes us like the Savior. I talked about our new mission motto 3 Nephi 5:13 about how Christ disciples us. This was from a training from president Evans. And we learn in DC 14:7 “And, if you keep my commandments and endure to the end you shall have eternal life, which gift is the greatest of all the gifts of God.” Obedience grants eternal life, which is the greatest of all the gifts because it’s not only living with Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ but because we’ve been obedient we live like Them. 

Life is so good as a missionary. I’m so happy to be out here right now. Every day is never as planned, full of adventure, laughs, and tender mercies. image1
Leave a Reply

