Off to Palmyra! 1st Transfer, May 10th, 2016

Wow, I guess the most anyone can handle me is a transfer! We got the call this morning and I’m going to be serving in Fairport! My new companion is Sister Fuhriman, who has been out a transfer longer than I. Sister Phoomphuang is staying. So I’m packing today amidst other usual area activities as I don’t really get a P-day this week. I’ll be in the Palmyra Stake! Fun! Today has been sad saying goodbye to all the people we’ve been working with. I love the people of Irondequoit! The bishop calls it the celestial ward, and they really are amazing. But onto my new area. Tune in next week to see how it goes!

Miracle of the week #1: We finally got to meet with the investigator I found with Sister Moore. Yeah, it’s been a while, but she was really sick and so we finally got to have a lesson with her. It went really well. Her name is Carolyn and I will be checking with the Irondequoit sisters frequently to see how she progresses. 
DSC02862
Miracle #2: We finally went to the temple. We get to go once a transfer so for some reason we waited to the very end to go. It was incredible, and exactly what I needed.
Miracle #3: The greatest miracle ever! Sister Andrukat is a less-active lady we’ve been visiting. Whenever we brought up church she would give us excuses, either medical, or anxiety (she had awful experiences of abuse at church when she was little). So after meeting with her for a few weeks and sharing messages we decided to start studying the Book of Mormon with her. And she loves it! She keeps going on about all the new insights she’s gained reading it with us. So when we brought up church recently she said she would go, and she did! We were really excited to have her there, she loved every minute of it, and she said all the fears she had about church were lifted and she wants to come again. It wasn’t until later when we were talking to her home teacher that he told us she hasn’t been to church (or in a church building either) in 10-20 years. He kept telling us how hard they’ve tried to help her come and he couldn’t believe we got her there. All the credit goes to the Book of Mormon. This was really big for me because I haven’t felt like there was much progress in the area while I’ve been here, and I was worried about that, but if I could’ve been an instrument in bringing Sister Andrukat back to church then I can leave happy.
DSC02863
Leave a Reply

